Just A Little Unfinished Business

No, it’s not finished.  I know, I know… but, I wasn’t sure I was going to finish this.  This is one of those thoughts that flashed through my mind one day when I was driving home and heard a song on my Slacker station.  I couldn’t resist writing something about what I’d seen.  A story unfolded in my head.  It’s not perfect by any sence of the word, so don’t think you’re getting anything that’s polished.  But, who knows…maybe one day I’ll hear that song again and I’ll continue the story, but for now…..

COME HOME

 

A single minute can hold the best moment of your life or deliver a catastrophic event that could change your life forever.  Sixty whole seconds…a lot can happen in that amount of time.

A car accident.

A promotion.

A rainy day hold lots of potential.

Getting dumped.

Being proposed to or deciding to ask her to marry you.

There are so many situations and combination of events that happen, but nothing can prepare you for how you’ll react to any given situation.

Will you turn right instead of left to avoid the accident?

What will you do with the extra money a promotion will bring?

Is the stray dog friendly or will you be able to get a way when it starts to attack?

When did you replace your tires last?

Will you look at being dumped as a blessing to move on or will you wallow in your loss?

Is this person the one you will want to spend forever with?

I thought I had it all figured out.  I thought I’d made all the right moves, but now I was uncertain.  Ten years…that’s a lot of minutes.  A lot of time for making memories like our first Christmas together, the holiday’s we’d traveled to see family, cold winter evenings by the fire.  We’d found out early on that we wouldn’t be able to have childeren so we had fun traveling to places we’d never seen before.  We’d shared those places together.  Nothing could ever make me forget that.

Or it coul be a lot of time for making mistakes like the one I’d just made by standing here letting her get away, watching her drive off.

I don’t know what made me do it.  I don’t know why I thought it would be a good idea.  People do stupid things in time of duress.  Maybe I didn’t think at all when I’d pulled into the bar that night I’d lost my job.  I wasn’t intending on doing anything to hurt her.

I know I wasn’t thinking when after a few beers and a couple shots of tequila I ended up in my car with the blond I’d met at the end of the bar.  She’d been there alone as well.  Difference was I’d had someone at home waiting for me.

Well, I did up until the moment I walked in the door at one in the morning and she smelled the tequila and the other woman’s perfume on me.  I hadn’t realized it had been there, but she’d found the blond’s lipstick smeared on the back of my neck.  It was just too much for her not to think what I knew it looked like.  Nothing had happened, but how did I explain that?  I had no witnesses.  It was only my word against what she could only imagine had happened.  And with the evidence I had given her, how could I blame her?

That’s when I saw a look in her eyes that still stung.  Hurt.  Disappointment.  It was like I could see her heart breaking right before my eyes.

Until next time …Live Every Moment….Laugh Every Day….Love Beyond Words

One thought on “Just A Little Unfinished Business

  1. Pingback: Unfinished Business Part 2 « Just A Girls Ramblings

What do you think....

