Wordy Wednesday

So, another Wednesday is upon us.  Yes, this is the day I usually post something.  They day I stretch my writing skills and let you all be the judge.  *hey, be nice now ;-)* And, here we are, another Wednesday that I am left with nothing really to say.  It’s not that I can’t come up with something that I want to post.  I could make something up.  But, I just lost that ‘mo-jo’ or whatever you call it.  And you know what that means….you get to hear some everyday randomness!  LOL Everybody say it….yea!!

-Christmas is only 20 days away!!  Eeeeekk…where’s my pause button?

-Did I REALLY have to open that bottle of wine last night?  REALLY?

-That season finale of SOA left me wondering how I’m going to make it through till next fall…no, really, how am I going to be able to wait nine months before knowing what’s going to happen now?!?!?!

-We had our new fridge delivered last night.  It’s fantastic!  Too bad we had to get it three weeks before Christmas!

-Why, oh, why did I open that bottle of wine last night?

-I think it’s time to color my hair again…seeing too much silver for my liking

-I haven’t been able to get any forward progress done on my chapter…a little disappointed

-And if you’ve read through all of the above…you deserve the below 😉

Disclaimer:  This is where I pull you in get you, the reader, involved.  This is an excerpt from my work in progress that no one else has looked over or critiqued.  So, be nice ;-P  If you want back story, you can find it on my Facebook page to the right over there.  You be the judge… Would anyone REALLY act this way?  Or too dramatic?

“Ellie,” a mans voice called from the other side of my door, “it’s Jack.  You home?”

How the hell did he get my address?  The only male that should know anything about where I live was Lou.  I’d have to have a little chat with Lou.  If this didn’t get Jack fired and out of my hair, I wasn’t sure what would.

“Ellie’s not home,” I yelled at the door.

The nosey son-of-a-bitch stole my address from the office.  Wasn’t that illegal?  

“Really?”  He answered through the door. “Well,” he huffed, “that’s a shame.”

“She doesn’t care,” I remarked with slight sarcasm and rolled my eyes.

I let a few seconds pass and heard not a peep so I resumed the organizing and sorting of laundry that I’d started.  The downside of living in an apartment; hauling it all down to the laundromat.  But, that was okay because I was one who enjoyed doing laundry.  Each step served a purpose.  I was one of those who took comfort in sorting and pairing.   A trait I picked up from my dad, I suppose.

I proceeded to pack up the dirty laundry in garbage bags and tossed it into the basket along with the detergent and fabric softener.  Propping the basket on my hip, I started for the door.  As I walked by a framed picture on my shelf of my dad and myself in Hawaii I kissed the tip of my finger before pressing over my dad’s smiling face.

Not a day went by that I didn’t think of him since I lost him.

I was looking forward to the time alone.  I hadn’t had much time to myself lately with the hours Lou had me working.  And with my new shadow, no less.  It seemed just when I was getting used to the city and comfortable with venturing out I was back to square one.  I didn’t dare leave the office before him scared that he was going to follow me and something just like this was going to happen.  It was creepy how he was right there every time I turned around.  

Oh, lucky me, no more late nights now that he knew where I lived.  Lou would have his head for this.  No, he’d have his balls for showing up at my apartment unannounced for no reason.

Plus, I was still trying to figure out the mysterious box I was given the other day.  It had been full of newspaper clippings and pictures all having to do with my dad.  But, why the stranger in the alley gave them to me was confusing.  They meant something, I just didn’t know what yet.

Pushing thoughts of Jack aside I opened the door and froze.  There, in the parking lot leaning up against what looked like a rust-red relic from the eighties was Jack.

“I thought you weren’t home,” he smirked.

“I’m not,” I said cooly turning to close and lock my door, “so you can go away now.”

“Wow, not a great way to make new friends,” he shot back trying to match my icy tone.

I noticed his mocking tone and turned to face him bluntly telling him, “I’m not looking to make any friends.”

“Good, me neither…but it would be rude of me to Lou if I let you walk all the way to the laundromat with that heavy basket.  He said to make sure I helped you out.”

“Well, it would help me out a ton if you just went away.  I won’t tell Lou so you won’t get in trouble and I’ll get my laundry done…in peace.  It’s a win-win situation.”

“I can’t do that.  See I made a promise and I can’t break that promise.  If you’d just put your pride aside-“

“Excuse me?” I placed a hand on my free hip.

“Look,” he let a smile soften his expression, “I just want to offer you a ride so you don’t have to walk.”

He pointed to his car behind him and suddenly my feet felt like I was planted to the sidewalk.  A prickly warmth rose up from my feet, to my legs, shooting a shiver up my spine before stinging my eyes.  I blinked to try and hold back the tears.

Here we go.  Here’s where THAT conversation happens.  The one where he finds out I’m a paranoid lunatic and he never speaks to me again.  

Wait…that might be a good thing.

No, it doesn’t have to go there.  I could handle Jack without telling him anything.  He didn’t need to know.

“I’m-I’m-I’m fine,” I couldn’t help the stammering his suggestion seemed to cause, “Wh-wh-why do you care, anyway?  It’s-it’s not that heavy.”  The basket suddenly felt ten times heavier than it had before.  My knees were suddenly weak and I gripped the basket like it would hold me up.

I turned away from Jack hoping he hadn’t caught the pain that I’m sure flashed across my face.

“Ellie, you’re not carrying that all the way to the laundromat, I can’t let you.  You know Lou would have my ass if he found out,” his voice softened a bit, but I tried to pretend I hadn’t noticed.

“Come on,” he persisted and I turned back around, “I promise I won’t bite, well, hard at least.”  He snickered and winked.

I felt my skin flush.

“Besides,” he continued, “I need to apologize.”

Apologize?  For what?  For stalking me?  For looking up my address and showing up uninvited?  For pushing me into doing something I really didn’t want to?  For sticking his noes into something that was none of his business?

“Apologize for what?” I finally asked out loud.

Hmmmmmmmmm what is Jack there to apologize for?  Maybe if you comment below I’ll give you the rest of this conversation next week *wink, wink*

Until next time….Live Every Moment, Laugh Every Day, Love Beyond Words

2 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday

  1. Is this the start of Chapter 3? Just wondering if I’d missed anything.

    Yes, I can see someone react like Ellie – if she had some deep and powerful traumatic event that occurred which made her hyper distrustful and afraid of others. To me, the way you have it written, it comes across almost like PTSD – which could be since many people live with it. The level of her reaction should be proportionate to the level of emotional/psychological trauma that she’s had, combined with her core personality. Given that you set her up to be a strong and independent woman, it would have to be something pretty traumatic that occurred to her. Since you know what’s happened to her, you can be the judge of that.

    I can’t wait for the rest! keep it coming. :o)

    • Well, you’ll just have to wait and see where you’ll see this come to play ;-). And it’s quite possible that it will be changed a little. I’ll just say that when she starts revealing bits and pieces of her experience in detail you’ll understand. And your reaction was just what I was looking for. I just might post his reason to apologize on Wednesday… stay tuned!

What do you think....

