Do Amazon and Createspace rip off Indie publishers with failure to correctly report sales?

I don’t know this from experience, but I want to pass along the information just in case someone else is wondering what’s going on. Hopefully they get this resolved. It isn’t fair to someone who’s worked so hard. Thoughts? Post in comments.

Lada Ray Blog

This post has just come to my attention and I felt it deserved to be re-posted on my blog. It is about missing or under-reported book sales on Amazon/Kindle/Createspace. I have long suspected something like this. Sometimes I would hear from people that they bought my books, but sales numbers would not match up on KDP or CS reports. Unlike the author in this piece, I am not into meticulously tracking each sale, however even I noticed multiple discrepancies – sometimes gross ones – in the past year or two. I even complained about it last year, but received a canned response. It appears that Smashwords is more accurate in reporting sales, although their reports are delayed.

Many indies are too busy to watch their sales, or they may simply give Amazon the benefit of the doubt, while unfortunately, constant oversight is required. This is a very disturbing situation, and…

View original post 1,383 more words

What do you think....

