Writing

So I’ve decided to do more blog posts.  *yea*  I got lazy.  Well, I got writing lazy.  I tend to do that when I have too much on my mind.  But, last week I did something fun.  I took a simple quote and turned it into the beginning of what could possibly be another story.  Did you see it?  https://justagirlsramblings.wordpress.com/2013/08/14/an-untitled-idea/

I’d like to do that more often.  What do you think?

Today’s rambles are more of a rant on my soap box.  It will be about something a little more serious.  I’ve noticed lately that there is a lot of negativity on Goodreads.  Okay, maybe not a lot, but enough that it got on my radar and I’m not on Goodreads a ton.  I was curious so I followed a link to where some of the shenanigans were taking place.  This wasn’t the first time I’d heard about this and this wasn’t the only author it’s happened to.

Look, I get that not everyone will want to read what I write.  And I also get that some people like to run their mouths…especially behind a computer screen.  But, how sad is it to see some of the words people actually type out about fellow authors, about fellow human beings.  I couldn’t believe what I was reading.  What happened to if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all?

Does this scare the bejesus out of me for when I’m ready to venture into the land of publishing, yes it does.  But, I also have faith in those who are following me on Twitter, Facebook, here and various other places I lurk.  Constructive criticism I can take, tell me my story isn’t your cup of tea or my idea doesn’t make sense to you or you found a spelling mistake (I’m a horrible speller so your help on that is greatly appreciated BTW).  I can take the criticism that will help make me a better writer.

What you should’t do is make it a personal attack toward them as a person.  How does that help?  Does that make their story something you like now?  Did that help with the grammar issues you noticed?  Look, you have every right to have an opinion or think someone is an idiot or notice that they did something stupid.  Believe me, I’ve had those thoughts.  But, it’s entirely different when you scream it to their face and that’s essentially what you are doing when you type those hurtful words on the screen.  Why point it out?

Is it this way on other websites?  I haven’t checked Amazon to see if anyone has had experience there.  What about Smashwords?  Anyone complaining over there?  I had wanted to use Goodreads, it seemed like a good site, but now I’m not so sure.

I also want to take a moment and say thank you to everyone who’s left a comment or a like or engaged with my sites in any way.  You are appreciated and people like you, yes I’m talking to you, make this so worth the journey.  I hope I never cross paths with any of those mean people, but it’s the chance I’m willing to take.  And remember, those words you type are being seen by someone, someone who has feelings, too.

XOXO

What do you think....

