It’s Written….Now What?

It was a great feeling. I sat back and looked at it wondering, could it be true? After all this time, I was done? I’d never finished a story before. I was always great at starting a story and then life would get in the way making me put it to the side never to see the light of day again. But, this time it was different.

Why was it different?

This time I had family and friends supporting and making me follow through. Pushing to help improve it where I would fall flat. If it wasn’t for the occasional prodding and poking it may have had the same fate as the others. Falling into the abyss of unfinished stories. I pushed through, though. Sometimes when I was hard pressed for a scene, I’d look at something I was doing at the time and incorporate it somehow. One of Ellie’s dream sequences is a good example of that.

And I did it! Nothing beats the satisfaction of looking at the finished product. Those were all my words. All 107,000 of those words came from me. The thoughts, actions, consequences, feel good moments, all of it, it all came from my mind. I still can’t believe it.

But, it’s not really finished is it? I mean I need it to be about as perfect as it can be for you to enjoy. In comes an editor. I’m fairly lucky in this regard because not only do I have a fabulous Beta reader who gets me and what I’m trying to convey, but I’ve been talking to a fabulous editor for a while now who I know will help me polish this story to what it needs to be before I let out in the world for you all read it. And right now, it’s in her hands.

Meanwhile, there are other facets to what needs to happen before you get it. I need a cover. I need a formatter. I need to figure out where it will be published and for how much I’ll sell it for. I need to figure out marketing strategy. All very important aspects. I don’t think one is more important than the other. They go hand in hand.

So, here we go. Are you ready? Cause, I’m going to need you on this journey to publishing my first book. Yeah, it’s true, I really do because it’s pretty exciting and scary at the same time. Someone needs to hold my hand and say it’s all going to be just fine. But, honestly there’s no going back now. I just have to keep telling myself that I will call myself an author one day.

One thought on “It’s Written….Now What?

What do you think....

