Write Now

I know everybody is busy, so where can you find time to write? It’s impossible, right? Do you want to know a secret? I don’t write every day and I managed to write a book. I know blasphemous, right? Because you’ve all been told if you are a writer that wants to become an author you need to write every day, you have to write every day, it’s imperative to get that first draft out as soon as you can. I say no, you don’t have to.

You know why? Because this is supposed to be fun, right? So, I write when I have time, when inspiration hits. As much as I tried in the beginning to write every day, it just doesn’t work for my lifestyle. And probably not for yours either. I’m a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister a friend, and a full-time employee. *whew*  Some things take precedence over writing, but that didn’t stop me from pursuing my dream. And it shouldn’t stop you either.

Another little known secret… it took me about seven years to complete my first book. Yes, you read that right. Seven. Years. Part of that was because of a major re-write about half way through the book. Technically, I wrote it twice. Point is, I’m okay with it taking as long as it’s going to take because I know I’m not going to get rich off of this. I do it because I love it. I write because I want to entertain you with the stories in my mind. And hopefully, I will accomplish that. I have my fingers crossed that the next one won’t take as long, but who knows what life will throw my way.

What I’m trying to tell you is not to give up. Once you get that first draft down, no matter how long it takes, it will feel so good! Fifteen minutes here and there can add up fast toward finishing that draft. Most times the first draft is your basic idea anyway. Got stuck on your plot? Sometimes when I get stuck with plot and I’m not sure where to twist it next, I go back to the beginning and read what I’ve written so far, make my first or second round of edits (depending how often I get stuck), strengthen my  plot lines, refresh my mind with the story of my characters instead of a single scene so it all comes together better. Then, sometimes, I’ll suddenly get hit with inspiration and I can move forward in the storyline.

Ah, inspiration. Now there’s a great topic for another blog post!

What do you think....

